FILM REVIEW
No Hype - No Nonsense - Just Movies!
Fan! Monthly Magazine from London ,United Kingdom
Ceased publication

- First and last issue: 1972-2008
- "Detailed coverage of upcoming releases"
- Britain's longest-running film magazine. Started as ABC Film Review in 1950.
- All the latest film news and reviews.
- Editor: David Richardson
- Published monthly with four quarterly special issues. 84 colour A4 pages.
- Published by Visual Imagination
- Website: www.visimag.com/index.htm

Last updated:
2020-12-23

Recent updates


Special thanks for this page goes to:
Garry Malvern
Terry and Sue
Scott Matheson
Tony
Kevin

COVERS FOUND & MISSING
Info from the Database
Highslide JS Listing is complete and all covers have been found.
There are 513 issues listed in the database

Info from the Cover Gallery
Covers found: 513
Covers missing: None
See The listing

CONTENTS: 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 All GALLERIES: 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 All

Issue 701
December 2008


Issue 700
September 2008
Interviewed...
Burn After Reading The Coen brothers with stars Brad Pitt, Tilda Swinton and John Malkovich
Tropic Thunder Director/star Ben Stiller along with stars Jack Black and Robert Downey Jr
Pineapple Express Stars Seth Rogen and James Franco and director David Gordon Green
Death Race Star Jason Statham
Somers Town Director Shane Meadows
Brideshead Revisited Stars Hayley Atwell and Michael Goode
How to Lose Friends and Alienate People Director Robert B Weide
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas Actor David Thewlis
Mirrors Star Kiefer Sutherland
The Strangers Star Liv Tyler
Nim's Island Star Jodie Foster
Director's Chair with Guy Ritchie, including RocknRolla
PLUS...
From the Archives: Batman and Robin We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from its 58 years in the biz
Assistant director Robert E Relyea looks back at his diverse career to celebrate the 90th anniversary of United Artists
On Set! Mutant Chronicles From the new Rob Perlman-starring Fantasy flick
Picture Views: A look at Righteous Kill and Clone Wars DVD
We countdown the best Westerns
And..
32 packed pages bringing you 43 reviews, including Hellboy II: The Golden Army, Step Bros and Eagle Eye
14 pages of DVDs, books, CDs and games, with 18 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies
Vox Pops What our readers in Tinseltown thought of The X Files 2: I Want to Believe and they were kinder than most members of the Film Review office...
Note: This publication includes the PDF-only issue #699


Issue 699
August 2008
Available only in PDF format , but also combined with Issue 700 see above


Issue 698
July 2008
New Pictures! The Dark Knight Director Christopher Nolan and stars Christian Bale and Aaron Eckhart
Exclusive! Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian Stars Ben Barnes and Warwick Davis
Kung Fu Panda Stars Jack Black and Angelina Jolie
WALL-E Director Andrew Stanton
25 Greatest Actors We scour modern cinema for the cr?me de la cr?me of today's acting talent
Exclusive! Cannes 2008 All the juiciest news and gossip
Sydney Pollack tribute We pay our respects to the late, multi-talented film-maker
Wanted Director Timur Bekmambetov
From the Archives: Toy Story We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from our 58 years in the biz
Exclusive! Director's Chair: Frank Darabont The Shawshank Redemption director gives us an exclusive look behind the scenes of his upcoming chiller The Mist
Now on DVD...
Exclusive! Rambo Special effects supervisor Alex Gunn and star Graham McTavish
There Will Be Blood Director Paul Thomas Anderson
Plus..
18 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 32 brand new releases, including Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, The Incredible Hulk and Sex and the City
17 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 15 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Yes Man and Miracle at St Anna
Vox Pops The Film Review team with their thoughts on cinema's latest pickings


Issue 697
Summer 2008
Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
We take an in-depth look at the film of the year, including...
Harrison Ford, Steven Spielberg and George Lucas The star, director and producer reunite for a chat with us!
Cate Blanchett
Karen Allen
Ray Winstone
Shia LaBeouf
And
Top 10 Indy Moments
The Incredible Hulk Why Marvel is giving its mean, green machine a second chance...
Sex and the City We share a cocktail with stars Sarah-Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Cynthia Nixon and Kristin Davis!
Exclusive! The Waiting Room Brit stars Ralf Little and Anne-Marie Duff find true love on the big screen
Exclusive! Marianne Faithfull The pop culture icon explores the darker side of life in Irina Palm
City Movies We tour the world's greatest cities as seen in the movies, from Trainspotting to Paris je t'aime
Exclusive! Director's Chair: Sergei Bodrov The Russian film-maker takes us behind the scenes of Oscar-nominated biopic Mongol - The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan
Taxi to the Dark Side Film-maker Alex Gibney reveals his terrible inspiration for his Oscar-winning War on Terror documentary
Gone Baby Gone Director Ben Affleck and stars Casey Affleck and Amy Ryan on their new drama
From the Archives: Ghostbusters II We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from our 58 years in the biz. This issue we take a look back at the classic 1989 spooky sequel
Exclusive! Actress Laura Linney reveals why it's so difficult to grow up in her new family drama The Savages
Director Marc Forster tells us how he brought Khaled Hosseini's beloved novel The Kite Runner to life
Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 31 brand new releases, including In Search of a Midnight Kiss, Numb and Priceless
17 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 15 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies The Dark Knight, The Rocker and Sleepwalking
Vox Pops We head to Hollywood's famous Mann's/Grauman's Chinese Theatre to see what our American readers thought of comedy sequel Harold & Kumar: Escape from Guantanamo Bay


Issue 696
June 2008
Massive Summer Preview! All new pics!
We bring you our scorching guide to the 60 films you simply can't miss this summer, and beyond!
Including...
Sex and the City Star Chris Noth
The Dark Knight Star Christian Bale
Iron Man Star Robert Downey Jr and director Jon Favreau
Hellboy 2: The Golden Army Director Guillermo del Toro
Speed Racer Stars Emile Hirsch, Matthew Fox and Christina Ricci
Hancock Stars Will Smith, Charlize Theron and Jason Bateman
Exclusive! Star Jessica Alba on her new Horror remake The Eye
We pay tribute to the life and career of Charlton Heston
Star Ryan Phillippe and director Kimberly Peirce on Iraq war drama Stop-Loss
Exclusive! Young star Wes Bentley on Horror movie P2
Star Jason Segel and director Nicholas Stoller on new comedy Forgetting Sarah Marshall
Exclusive! Director's Chair: Neil Marshall on explosive apocalyptic blockbuster Doomsday
New! From the Archives: All That Jazz We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from our 58 years in the biz. This issue we revisit an encounter with the late, great Roy Scheider
Anthony Minghella Remembering the work of the late British director, and his continuing influence on British film
Alternative Animation Disney and Pixar may rule the animation roost, but we take a look at the best of the rest, including new film Persepolis
Director John Sayles celebrates a golden age of musical history in Honeydripper
Now on DVD...
Exclusive! Actor John C Reilly on music spoof Walk Hard
Star Dustin Hoffman talks about Mr Magorium's Wonder Emporium
Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 30 brand new releases, including Where in the World is Osama Bin Laden?, Death Note and Charlie Bartlett
17 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 21 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture An early look at forthcoming movies Wolf Man, Monster vs Aliens and GI Joe
Vox Pops We head to the Sydney's sun-drenched Dendy Opera Quays cinema to see what our Australian readers thought of new drama The Black Balloon


Issue 695
May 2008
Martin Scorsese & The Rolling Stones The director and the band tell us why they have united for the mind-blowing concert movie Shine a Light The 10 best rockumentaries, from The Last Waltz to In Bed with Madonna In Bruges Colin Farrell ... on his pitch black British crime comedy Director Martin McDonagh tells us why he just had to film the movie in Bruges Director Garth Jennings and his two young stars Bill Milner and Will Poulter on remaking Rambo in Son of Rambow Horror Grudge Match! We investigate how the Western versions of Asian Horror films hold up to their Eastern originals The Oscar-nominated actor David Strathairn talks about his role in upcoming Horror remake Apparition Exclusive! Director's Chair: Mike Leigh gives us his thoughts on his latest opus Happy-Go-Lucky Exclusive! Bette Davis Tribute On the 100th anniversary of her birth, we pay tribute to the Hollywood legend and talk to her son Mike Merrill Stars Naomi Watts, Michael Pitt and Brady Corbetdiscuss their roles in Funny Games Exclusive! Korean director Chan-wook Park tells us why he's showing his sensitive side in I'm a Cyborg New! From the Archives: All the President's Men We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from our 58 years in the biz Stars Adrien Brody, Jason Schwartzman and director Wes Anderson of The Darjeeling Limited reveal how filming their quirky comedy became a real-life spiritual adventure Now on DVD... Director Francis Lawrence on I am Legend Plus.. 14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 30 brand new releases, including Flashback of a Fool, Letherheads and 10,000 BC 15 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 17 pages of the latest film news The Bigger Picture An early look at forthcoming movies The International, Get Smart and Kung Fu Panda Vox Pops We head to the famous Leicester Square Odeon to find out what our London readers made of star-studded historical drama The Other Boleyn Girl


Issue 694
April 2008
Indiana Jones Exclusive! New Kingdom of the Crystal Skull pictures We take a look at the three films that made him a movie icon... Director Steven Spielber reveals the secrets of new movie Kingdom of the Crystal Skull Co-star Shia LaBeouf on playing Indy's new sidekick Exclusive! Director Roland Emmerich tells us why he's turning back Time for prehistoric blockbuster 10,000 BC Stars Scarlett Johansson & Natalie Portman on how it felt to go head to head in historical drama The Other Boleyn Girl Exclusive! Director's Chair: Brian De Palma The controversial film-maker speaks out regarding his ambitious Iraq war movie Redacted Heath Ledger (1979-2008) Following the death of the much-loved actor, we pay tribute to a career cut short Stars Dennis Quaid, Matthew Fox and Forest Whitaker discuss their multi-viewpoint thriller Vantage Point Funniest man in Hollywood Will Ferrell tells us why he's courting laughs in professional basketball comedy Semi-Pro Studio United Artists celebrates its 90th anniversary and we take a look at its astonishing history and enduring legacy Director Paul Andrew Williams and stars Andy Serkis, Jennifer Ellison and Reece Shearsmith on mixing gore and guffaws in their pitch black comedy Exclusive! Director George A Romero lets us take a peak inside his Diary of the Dead Exclusive! Director Juan Antonio Bayona and producer Guillermo Del Toro of Spanish chiller The Orphanage reveal its terrifying secrets Now on DVD... Exclusive! British funnyman Ben Miller on cutting some rug in Razzle Dazzle We pay tribute to his life and remarkable career of director Stanley Kubrick Plus.. 14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 35 brand new releases, including Jumper, The Bank Job and Out of the Blue 15 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 13 pages of the latest film news The Bigger Picture An early look at forthcoming movies X-Men Origins: Wolverine, Hancock and Where the Wild Things Are Vox Pops We head to Hollywood to find out what our Los Angeles readers made of ground-breaking creature-feature Cloverfield


Issue 693
March 2008
Star Daniel Day Lewis talks about There Will be Blood Plus: Actor Paul Dano on playing opposite Lewis Director Matt Reeves on his monster movie Cloverfield Star Nicolas Cage on his first sequel, National Treasure: Book of Secrets Stars Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman on growing old disgracefully in comedy The Bucket List Star Hayden Christensen tells us why he's returning to Sci-Fi for the action-packed spectacular Jumper Actress Christina Ricci on the modern fairy tale Penelope Star Halle Berry reveals all about her most challenging role yet, in the hard-hitting drama Things We Lost in the Fire Star Mathieu Almaric and director Julian Schnabel on their touching Golden Globe-winning true-life story The Diving Bell and the Butterfly Upcoming stars Ellen Page and Michael Cera, director Jason Reitman and writer Diablo Cody on their breakout comedy hit Juno Exclusive! Stars Selma Blair and Stellan Starsg?rd dissect their disturbing new psychological Horror movie WAZ Exclusive! Director's Chair: Wong Kar Wai The acclaimed film-maker behind Chungking Express and In the Mood for Love discusses his latest work My Blueberry Nights Now on DVD Exclusive! Director Anton Corbijin on his stylish biopic Control Exclusive! Director Neil Jordan on his controversial The Brave One Plus.. 14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 35 brand new releases, including Rambo, Be Kind Rewind and Aliens vs Predator: Requiem 15 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 13 pages of the latest film news The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies Frost/Nixon, Hellboy II: The Golden Army, Australia, The Incredible Hulk, The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian and The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor Vox Pops We head to Sydney to find out what our Aussie readers made of No Country for Old Men


Issue 692
February 2008
We talk to... Rambo Sylvester Stallone Sweeney Todd Stars Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman and director Tim Burton No Country for Old Men Exclusive! Film-making legends the Coen Brothers and their stars Josh Brolin and Javier Bardem I Am Legend Star Will Smith The Golden Compass Star Nicole Kidman Before the Devil Knows You're Dead Legendary director Sidney Lumet and his stars Marisa Tomei and Philip Seymour Hoffman Dan in Real Life America's funniest man Steve Carell Aliens vs Predator: Requiem Exclusive! Directorial team the Brothers Strause Lust, Caution Director Ang Lee In the Valley of Elah Director's Chair Exclusive! Paul Haggis Now on DVD Death Proof Exclusive! Zoe Bell Plus.. 14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 27 brand new releases, including St Trinian's, Charlie Wilson's War and Man in the Chair 9 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 13 pages of the latest film news The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies Flashbacks of a Fool, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skulland The Dark Knight Vox Pops We head to Kent to find out what our readers made of The Golden Compass


Issue 691
January 2008
Wanted Pictorial Preview Angelina Jolie and James McAvoy team up for this hot new action-fest I'm Not There Director Todd Haynes and stars Cate Blanchett and Christian Bale get together to discuss the many visions of Dylan in this off beat biopic The Golden Compass We go behind the scenes and talk to director Chris Weitz Director's Chair: Francis Ford Coppola Exclusive The legendary film-maker on his fantastic career, his return to directing for Youth Without Youth and why he hasn't made a film in 10 years The Film That Changed My Life... Atonement director Joe Wright talks about Scorsese's inspiring masterpiece Taxi Driver Star Jerry Seinfeld gives us the buzz on new animation Bee Movie Star Joaquin Phoenix reveals some of We Own the Night 's darker themes The Killing of John Lennon Director Andrew Piddington on bringing the disturbing true story to the big screen Enchanted Susan Sarandon and Patrick Dempsey discuss this modern twist of a classic fairy-tale Force Fed We celebrate 30 years of Star Wars with a fans' eye view of the saga Kyle Newman Exclusive We talk to the director of upcoming Star Wars comedy Fanboys Christopher Doyle Exclusive The Paranoid Park cinematographer reveals what it's like to work with director Gus Van Sant Now on DVD Knocked Up Exclusive We chat to director Judd Apatow and star Leslie Mann Now on DVD Charles de Lauzirika Exclusive The Blade Runner: The Final Cut producer on revitalizing the Sci-Fi masterpiece Now on DVD Shia LaBeouf Exclusive We chat to the Transformers star Plus.. 13 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 31 brand new releases, including Silk, Beowulf and Hitman 9 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 13 pages of the latest film news The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies Cassandra's Song, Rambo and Sex and the City: The Movie Vox Pops We head to LA to find out what our readers made of Fred Claus


Special #69
2008

All magazine covers are copyrighted by their publishers. No rights are given or implied. They are presented here for their historical significance and the edification of magazine fans and collectors, everywhere.